The overall governance of the schools lies with the Board of Directors of the Catholic Independent Schools of Nelson Diocese (CISND).  The president of the Board of Directors is the Bishop of Nelson.  The Vicar of Education and Vicar General of the Diocese are ex-officio members of the Board.  In addition to the aforementioned, there is one pastor associated with the schools and six lay members nominated from each community.  The Superintendent of Schools and the Financial Director for the diocese are non-voting members of the Board of Directors.

The Board is responsible for the overall philosophy of the schools as well as the development of policies and procedures affecting the schools.  The Board requires the assistance of local School Councils to support them in their endeavors.  School Councils are responsible to the Board and deal with such areas as: annual school budget, ways and means, buildings and maintenance, local policy, public relations, and marketing and development.  Parent Support Groups exist in each school and are there to support the School Council and Principal.

The CISND is a member of the CISCBC, FISABC and CCSTA.


The Catholic Independent School Committee of BC (CISCBC), which includes the superintendents and one rep from each diocese, meets twice yearly to discuss and address issues affecting Catholic schools in the province.  This committee meets with the five Bishops each fall.  It is from this committee that three reps are chosen to sit on the FISA board and one of the members is chosen to attend the Canadian Catholic School Trustees Association (CCSTA) meetings on the behalf of all Catholic schools in the province.


The Federation of Independent Schools (FISA) is a non-profit society who is the voice for independent schools in British Columbia.  They lobby the government on our behalf by acting as a liaison between the schools and the government, and other educational institutions.  The FISA is dedicated to assisting independent schools in maintaining their independence while seeking fair treatment for them in legislative and financial terms.


The Canadian Catholic School Trustees Association (CCSTA) is a national organization promoting excellence in Catholic education throughout Canada.  The CCSTA works closely with the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops, Catholic organizations and the federal government to enhance and promote Catholic education. In addition to its commitment in advocating for the faith formation of our children, CCSTA also provides opportunities for school trustees, staff and supporters of Catholic education to deepen their faith. One way in which the Association does this is through its publications and documents, which may be viewed under the Publications tab on their website

Bishop John Corriveau

Bishop John CorriveauMost Rev. John Corriveau
O.F.M., Cap
Bishop of Nelson

Appointed: November 30, 2007
Ordained: January 30, 2008
Installed: January 31, 2008

Catholic Pastoral Centre
3665 Benvoulin Road
Kelowna, BC
V1W 4M7

Phone: 250-448-2725
Fax: 1-866-964-3585

Bishop John, former minister general of the Franciscan Order of Friars Minor Capuchins, was appointed by Pope Benedict XVI to succeed Bishop Eugene Cooney on November 30, 2007.  He was born in Zurich, Ontario in 1941 and ordained a priest in 1965.  Most Reverend John Corriveau, O.F.M., Cap, was ordained bishop by Most Reverend Luigi Ventura, Apostolic Nuncio to Canada in Immaculate Conception Church, Kelowna, January 30, 2008.  He was installed as the sixth Bishop of Nelson January 31, 2008 at the Cathedral of Mary Immaculate, Nelson, BC by Most Rev. Raymond Roussin, S.M., Archbishop of Vancouver.

At its core, the Catholic vision of “church” is much more than a parish and its parishioners; it is a vision with a “strong community” dimension, a dimension which includes the Catholic School.  Through faith we are called into a relationship with Jesus Christ and our brothers and sisters.  Therefore, the fundamental role of our Catholic schools is to introduce students to the life of Jesus Christ.  It also includes helping students to understand the importance of developing a greater commitment to the community of the church and the world around us.  In today’s secular world, more than ever children require support in understanding the necessity of a “we-centered” world.

Most Rev. John Corriveau

Board of Directors

Mission Statement of the CISND Board of Directors

With the Holy Spirit as the source and foundation of unity in the church, the mission of the Board of Directors is to function as a bond of unity and collaboration between the Catholic School communities of the Nelson Diocese.  Reflective of Catholic Gospel values, the Board will oversee and protect the essence of Catholic Education through the development and implementation of polices and procedures.

Members of the Board of Directors

  • Bishop John Corriveau, President
  • Fr. Conrado Beloso, Vicar General
  • Fr. Pat Monette, Vicar of Education
  • Fr. Bart Van Roijen, Pastor Director
  • Bernie Earthy, Penticton Director
  • Andrew Henry, West Kelowna Director
  • Mary Manton, Kelowna Director
  • Liz Stephens, Trail Director
  • Lyle Stuart, Cranbrook Director
  • Vince Vulcano, Nelson Director
  • Arthur Therrien*, Superintendent of Schools
  • Tom Burzuk*, Director of Financial Administration Nelson Diocese

* Non-Voting Member

Vicar of Education

Fr. Pat Monette was appointed the Episcopal Vicar of Education on October 15, 2008.  He is currently the pastor of St. Charles Garnier Parish in Kelowna.  Fr. Monette has served as chaplain to a number of schools in the diocese and is currently the chaplain for Immaculata Regional High School.  As Vicar of Education, he chairs the Catholic Independent Schools of Nelson Diocese (CISND) Board of Directors.

St. Charles Garnier Parish
3645 Benvoulin Road
Kelowna, BC
V1W 4M7

Phone: 250-860-6776